Not So Ambient, Dying In Obscurity, and Future Nerds

Posted on February 19, 2015

0


CERUMENTRIC

It’s turning out that what I intended as an ambient music side project is becoming less ambient and more like a slasher B-movie music score. I signed up for the RPM Challenge of coming up with ten tracks before February is over and I’m figuratively running around like a headless chicken.

That’s what I get for being a recovering procrastinator.

I’m currently working on loops from really obscure Latin music and Filipino funk/disco records for this side project called Canfreed. It will be the second album that I’ll do for this alternate moniker, and it’s a good break from the high expectations that has turned into CERUMENTRIC.

The idea is to mangle them beyond recognition that only a pedant familiar with the 1970’s Filipino and Latin music scenes, with an extremely patient ear, and a lot of time in their hands, will recognize which original recordings they came from.

I’ve…

View original post 118 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized